Home > Artists > Artist Products > Chris Ware Building Stories Jigsaw Puzzle Pre-order (Item #10087173 )

Chris Ware Building Stories Jigsaw Puzzle Pre-order

$50.00

$45.00 Members

Share

PRODUCT: Chris Ware Building Stories Jigsaw Puzzle Pre-Order
SIZE: Box is 8" x 6" x 3.1". Assembled puzzle is 26.77" x 19.29"
DESIGNER: Chris Ware × Presspop
This is a pre-order that will ship in mid-September. Exclusively launching at the MCA!

From Presspop, the Building Stories jigsaw puzzle remixes Chris Ware's award-winning graphic novel Building Stories. The packaging, in the form of a building, was originally drawn by Chris Ware, and takes the form of a pull out drawer. Features ORIGINAL UNIQUE PUZZLE PIECES made from molds based on Ware's drawings. A must have for fans of Chris Ware and Building Stories, with surprises and newly-added concepts.

Presspop on the design process of the puzzle:
"Around Spring of 2020, we contacted Chris and asked him if he wanted to make a puzzle with us, and fortunately, he liked the idea.

When Chris asked, in his usual modest, polite, and uniquely apologetic way, if it would be possible to produce original shaped puzzle pieces for the project, we were not surprised as we had the same idea in mind. We immediately replied “Yes!” without even thinking about the cost. Thus, our undertaking had begun of making our own unique puzzle pieces from original molds.

So now at this time, we are finally ready to release Chris Ware's Building Stories puzzle this Fall. It's a puzzle that took us a long time to produce, and I'm sure you'll enjoy it because it contains many surprises and tricks that only a genius such as Chris can present. Also, in this age where everything is digitalized, we are proud to offer a product with beautiful packaging that makes you feel happy and content by actually picking it up and touching it, or just placing in your room to observe and enjoy."

1125 pieces
© Chris Ware

Building Stories is a 2012 graphic novel by American cartoonist Chris Ware. It has won countless awards. The unconventional work is made up of fourteen printed works — cloth-bound books, newspapers, magazines, broadsheets, and flip books—packaged in a boxed set. The work took a decade to complete, and was published by Pantheon Books. The intricate, multilayered stories pivot around an unnamed female protagonist living in Chicago with a missing lower leg. A fully-apportioned variety of reading material ready to address virtually any imaginable artistic or poetic taste, from the corrosive sarcasm of youth to the sickening earnestness of maturity. Whether you’re feeling alone by yourself or alone with someone else, the book is sure to sympathize with the crushing sense of life wasted, opportunities missed and creative dreams dashed.
All proceeds from the MCA Store support the exhibitions and programs of the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago.